Playing catch-up

June 9, 2010

I’ve fallen way behind, haven’t I? Oops. Here are some things I meant to share over the past month:

Popcorn Panels:
The Trotsky was poorly paced, but charming nonetheless, and impressively unselfconscious about being Canadian (take a letter, One Fucking Terrible Week). I like that Jay Baruchel kid. He reminds me of my sister.

Sex and the City 2 is a blight on humanity. You should watch some Nicole Holofcener films instead.

Art

Old news. Banksy was in town last month. I found one of his creations around the corner from the bookstore where I used to work. See:

Banksy in TO

More art

This awesome photography/conceptual street art show is up at a little gallery around the corner. These Montreal artists stage scenes featuring people using potholes in different ways: sometimes silly (party girls cooling their champagne), sometimes charming (Alice chasing a white rabbit down a hole), sometimes creepy (a drowning person’s hand stick up out of a puddle while a Baywatch-esque lifeguard races over). If you’re in Toronto, you should head to Leslieville to check out these photos – they’re gorgeous, and a lot of fun.

Chicago

Cloudgate

I went to Chicago a couple of weeks ago. It was the best. I finally saw the NeoFuturists in action, ate deep-dish pizza (and wasn’t hungry again for 24 hours), saw a very proper production of Endgame at Steppenwolf Theatre , and drank a punchbowl of gin. It’s a great town and two days is nowhere near long enough.

Class is over

My artist-educator foundation course ended last week. My awesome project partner Andrea and I presented a lesson plan about arts criticism. We have lofty goals regarding raising the general level of discourse in society. I’ll let you know how that goes.

One Response to “Playing catch-up”

  1. seenonflickr Says:

    The Bean!! I love it so.

Leave a Reply

