Just super (8, that is.)

April 5, 2010

I’ve had a very multi-media week. For this story in the Toronto Star, I had to participate in the One Take Super 8 event in the Images Festival. It was fun, but hard – as soon as I started actually using the camera (when it was too late to go back and make any changes), I started having all kinds of amazing ideas about what I should do for my three-minute film. Unfortunately, I had to give back the nifty old-timey camera when I handed in my film. If for some reason you want to watch my disjointed moving-picture-essay (there’s some cute footage of a pigeon. And my red rainboots in a puddle. And me spilling tea all over the counter at work because I forgot about depth perception. SOMEONE GIVE ME AN OSCAR!), it’s being screened, along with the other (probably better) entries on Wednesday night at 11 p.m. at the Polish Combatants’ Hall

In more current media news, I produced a radio program last week. I do occasional fill-in work at CBC, and I was Associate Producer for everyone’s favourite live national call-in show Cross Country Checkup last week. I learned a lot about foreign policy by doing pre-interviews with a bunch of people who are smarter than me. You can listen to the episode here, if you want.

Now I’m off to spend this glorious Easter Monday in a dark movie theatre watching idiots bastardize Greek mythology.

Leave a Reply

